Baltic Way 2005

Stockholm - Sweden


History of the Baltic Way Mathematical Team Competition

The Baltic Way Mathematical Competition started in 1990, when the first competition was organized in Riga, Latvia with participating teams from Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania. Since 1992 teams from other countries in the Baltic Sea area have been invited, and the competition now has eleven countries participating on a regular basis: Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany (represented mainly by Rostock and Hamburg), Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russia (represented by St. Petersburg) and Sweden. Belarus and Israel have also attended the competition as specially invited guests.

The previous competitions took place in the following locations:

YearCity ProblemsWeb site
1990Riga, Latvia
1991Tartu, Estonia
1992Vilnius, LithuaniaPDF
1993Riga, LatviaPDF
1994Tartu, EstoniaPDF
1995Västerås, SwedenPDF
1996Valkeakoski, FinlandPDF
1997København, Denmark PDF
1998Warsawa, PolandPDF
1999Reykyavik, IcelandPDF
2000Oslo, NorwayPDF
2001Hamburg, GermanyPDF  
2002Tartu, EstoniaPDF www.ut.ee/bw2002
2003Riga, LatviaPDF nms.lu.lv/bw03/index.htm
2004Vilnius, LithuaniaPDF www.olimpiados.lt/bw2004/index.php